Home / EU Sozialdialog / Interprofessional ESD / Actors, Tools & Procedures / Actors


Workers are represented through the ETUC and European employers through BusinessEurope (former UNICE), UEAPME and CEEP:

Representing European workers


ETUC – European Trade Union Confederation : ETUC was established in 1973 and currently has a membership of 83 national trade union confederations from 36 European countries, as well as 12 European industry federations, making a total of 60 million members. ETUC has its seat in Brussels.

Other trade union structures such as EUROCADRES (the Council of European Professional and Managerial Staff) and EFREP/FERPA (European Federation of Retired and Elderly Persons) operate under the auspices of ETUC.

In addition, ETUC coordinates the activities of the 44 ITUCs (Interregional Trade Union Councils), which organise trade union cooperation at a cross-border level.

Representing European employers


BUSINESSEUROPE (former UNICE): BusinessEurope is the European private sector employer organisation and was established in 1958. It counts 40 employer federations from 34 countries as members.

Given that UEAPME (European Association of Craft, Small and Medium-sized Enterprises) was excluded from the European social dialogue, BusinessEurope entered into a cooperation arrangement with it in 1998 in order that it also be included in the employers’ delegations.

CEEP (European Centre of Enterprises with Public Participation and of Enterprises of General Economic Interest) deals with the activities of enterprises with public participation. CEEP was established in 1961.