Home / EU Sozialdialog / Sectoral ESD / Electricity




European Mine, Chemical and Energy Workers' Federation (EMCEF) (1996) (now: IndustriALL – European Trade Union)

European Federation of Public Service Unions (EPSU) (1974)



Union of the Electric Industry (EURELECTRIC) (1999)

Sectoral Social Dialogue Committee (SSDC)

Informal working group:




Internal Rules:

23 February 2000

Work Programme:


General overview

Originally, the European Community only took shape in the energy sector by virtue of the ECSC (European Coal and Steel Community) Treaty and the EAEC (European Atomic Energy Community) Treaty. In 1974, following the first oil shock, it proved necessary to establish an energy strategy so as to minimise the after-effects.

Participants and challenges

European social dialogue in the electricity sector was institutionalised by the setting up of a Sectoral Social Dialogue Committee (SSDC) in February 2000, a few years after the elaboration of a discussion paper on health and safety in the workplace and a study of gender equality, both carried out in the late 1990s.


European social dialogue in the electricity sector is very varied. It has, since its inception, explored topics as diverse as working conditions, social aspects of Community policies, corporate social responsibility, restructuring, health and safety, and EU enlargement, among others.

Joint Texts

The “electricity” sectoral social dialogue has resulted, since 1996, in the adoption of 21 joint texts.

ETUI and Observatoire Social Européen (2010) European Sectoral Social Dialogue Factsheets. Project coordinated by Christophe Degryse, online publication available at www.worker-participation.eu/EU-Social-Dialogue/Sectoral-ESD